My new adventure

Photo credit: Maria Fabrizio for NPR (source)

Today I have been informed that I have been accepted to the Medical Anthropology and Sociology Masters program at the University of Amsterdam. This makes me quite happy since it has been a long road to get here and there is a long but exciting road ahead.

After completing my degree in physiotherapy I realized that I wanted to head in another direction. I took a year off and after this year started looking into my options. One thing I realized along the way was that one of my biggest interests is the LBGTIQ community. This is why I plan to conduct my research in this direction and hope to be able to focus it on the LGBTIQ of the (dutch) caribbean. This is a group that sadly is virtually invisible in research in health.

It will be nice to share my journey on my blog the coming year.

Author: joelillidge

Joël Illidge is a blogger on health and culture topics with a focus on the sexual health of ethnic minorities in the Netherlands, particularly the Dutch Caribbean LGBTIQ community. He has an educational background in Health Sciences (B.Sc.) and Physiotherapy (B.Health.), and is currently embarking on a Masters in Medical Anthropology at the University of Amsterdam. He is based in Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

One thought on “My new adventure”

Leave a Reply

